A Diversion to The Lions Den

We decided on a whim to hit the Lions Den Hotel on Friday night. The plan was to play the pool comp,but when we phoned they said they weren’t running one. However, we were invited to run one if we were coming. So we loaded our sleeping gear and the esky into Denise’ van & and headed off down the highway. We stopped off at the Black Mountain car park for a quick photo  & kept rolling…

image

Twenty minutes later we rolled in and parked up at our ‘usual’ spot down near the creek & set up our air beds & stuff.
We only managed to get one other person into the comp,so instead of playing for the pot, we all decided the money should go to drinks instead 🙂
We got yarning to some Bama friends,and then a few more friends rolled in as well.
As the night wore on I had to head down to the camp because the dogs were going off and waking up the tourists. I decided to hang down there for a bit until they settled. When I got back up to the pub it was slowing down,so back to the camp we went.
We had an excellent night of fun & frivolity with some of the locals, eventually pouring ourselves into our beds at about 3am.
The one big decision of the night?
Sea turtle tattoo soon. My totem.
Oh, when I opened my eyes,the photo below was my view…the trunk on that tree is over nearly a metre in diameter.

image

Some of our friends & us at the pool table.

image

image

2 Comments

  1. Emma said,

    February 23, 2012 at 11:21 pm

    Ah Brad, you forgot to mention me! hehe. Finally got around to checking out this blog… thanks for sharing it with me! Can’t wait to have a real good look at it. 🙂 Hope you are well. I left the Den on the 27th of Jan. I’m now residing in Cairns and finding my way. Hope to see you around sometime. Emma.

    • Brad said,

      February 24, 2012 at 2:30 am

      Oh no! I am now sad. What excuse do I have to go to the Den now. I hope we can catch up in Cairns sometime Emma. And shame on me for not mentioning you in this post. 🙂


Leave a Reply

