Back to Home – Walker Bay

I went back home on Monday afternoon and stayed for the night.

Yesterday (the 20th) marked 31 days since my rock, my baby, my inspiration, my lover, and my best friend became one of the many who lost their life to a potentially curable brain cancer. She was a sister, a niece, a grandmother, an auntie, a friend, a mother, and a ‘stepmum’ to many. She touched the hearts of, and inspired scores of people.
A lot of you may not know, but on the night of her funeral, a whole bunch of people went to the wharf in Cooktown to fare her well. I love these people.

I talked with Tina through the night when I went home to Walker Bay. I told her how much I love her, miss her and wish so much that I could hold her one more time. I talked about many things. I also cried. A lot.

I also talked about a friend.
Besides my trip to Laura driving the bus, I had been somewhat reclusive. To the point where I think I’ve watched 20 or more DVDs that I haven’t seen previously. Now, my dear friend Dragon has tried to entice me to the pub more than once to get me out of the house. I did go up once. But I don’t do pubs with blokes easily. Too much testosterone for me. I prefer female company. I always have. Most of my younger years were spent with my mum and 2 sisters. Dad worked away most of the time. There were other issues that only a few people know that makes me feel more comfortable around women than men. Or more trusting?  It’s deep.

Anyway, this friend. She has unknowingly helped me get out of the house. Certain factors have led to her not coming to the lair. While she was coming around I was enjoying talking with her. She’s one of my back waxing friends. Anyway, I’ve been getting out ever since the back wax, and have been spending some time out with her. No, not like that, like mates. But, she (sorry, won’t say her name) has shown me something special. She just knows that to be there is all it takes. I would still be in the house, surrounded by four walls & not here at the beach if not for her.

No. She isn’t here. It’s just me and the dogs.
What I wanted to write was, ‘M’, thankyou for being a friend. You have a beautiful soul. As I said before, your smile and your company lifts me.
But nothing suss :). She is my mate!
Of course, If I was 20 years younger and circumstances were different, I’d chase her all over town until she had me charged with stalking 😉

Seriously though, I hope she realises how important her friendship is to me.

5 Comments

  1. Big Sister Roz said,

    November 23, 2011 at 3:51 pm

    I would like to thank your friend also. It’s nice to know that there is someone all the way up there who is caring about you and helping you ease your way back into the land of the living :o)

    So … thank you LB’s friend!

    • Brad said,

      November 23, 2011 at 5:18 pm

      🙂 I’ll show her your comment later if I see her Roz.

  2. bob said,

    November 24, 2011 at 7:24 am

    it will be hard my good friend….but Tina would want you to fly free, and to carry on your path of your shared beliefs and loves..

    and as long as all of us that she touched loved her she will never be gone….

    I think of her and you daily….saddened, yet awe inspired at the life and friendship you had…

    so many lack the togetherness you had..and that my dear pal is a priceless commodity…

    be well….. and try to get out more..

    your friend always….Bob.

    • Brad said,

      November 30, 2011 at 7:52 pm

      Love you Bob. We’re gunna meet one day.

  3. GOF said,

    November 25, 2011 at 7:05 am

    You need special people like her in your life at the moment to help you through this difficult time and give you a softer place to fall on those occasions when you need to. Thanks for sharing that touching story Brad.


Leave a Reply

