7 Days

Today we said farewell for now to our Phoenix. It was a short service in the chapel at the funeral directors office. No drawn out affair. She didn’t want that.
We were expecting maybe 20 people. But we kind of underestimated. Everyone managed to squeeze in to the tiny chapel in William Street.
All 80 odd family and close friends. There were many more who could not attend for reasons of distance etc.
Afterwards our dear nephew & niece, Macca and Tara, along with Taras brother and her mum, hosted a wake for everyone. I’m pretty sure all had a good time. The kids that were old enough to drink have certainly had fun 😉
I left early and mellowed with some music and few Coopers Sparkling Ales. The kids rolled in around midnight.
1am. Time for another beer. Might be a long night.

4 Comments

  1. bob said,

    October 28, 2011 at 1:15 am

    at 11 wed night I said a word to tina here…

    I wish I could have been there……..

  2. Phil said,

    October 28, 2011 at 11:49 am

    Well said Hoppy….I am looking forward to a quite ale with you too, or three 🙂

  3. GOF said,

    October 30, 2011 at 6:51 am

    Brad, I hope it is not presumptuous of me to say that I was there in spirit. Even though I never met her, the contributions she made to my blog made me feel as though we both shared a similar sense of the ridiculous and an ability to take a light-hearted look at life when it was appropriate to do so.

    I will never, ever, forget the generosity you both showed in offering to assist us rebuild after cyclone Yasi.

    My thoughts and best wishes are with you.

    • Brad said,

      October 30, 2011 at 12:36 pm

      Thanks GOF. Tina had a deep respect for you and always enjoyed your posts and discussions. Not presumptuous at all. 🙂


Leave a Reply

