Tinas Prognosis

As most of you know, we admitted Tina into Rockhampton hospital this afternoon.

I want to first apologise to the majority of you who I haven’t personally contacted with updates when I should. I know a phone call is easy. But when you have to attempt to make about 15 calls,which translates to repeating myself that many times, I don’t have the emotional strength to do it. I can only explain the imminent death of my true love so many times.

This is the raw truth.
Tina underwent a CT scan this afternoon. The doctor has explained that the tumor is once again very large. He has increased the anti swelling steroids to help ease her pain. This is all we can do. Further ‘debulking’ surgery may buy more time, but will more than likely kill her or worse.
Tina is semi-comatose and barely responsive. She has a catheter for fluids out and an iv drip for fluids in. In human terms, Tina knows we are with her when she is ‘awake’. She can squeeze my hand but she can’t open her eyes or talk. I know she knows what’s happening.  Often she is asleep though. Unstressed in a happy place.
Oh I fucken hate this so so much.
In respect for my best friend and rock, please don’t pray for her. Just give her your love and wish her well in her future journeys when the time comes.

I know that sounds bad, but I am trying to deal with this somehow. I’ll head to the hospital in the morning and let you all know how she is.

I hate reality’s roundhouse kicks.

image

5 Comments

  1. bob said,

    October 19, 2011 at 5:37 am

    I’m so sad to hear all this brad….
    god what a terrible thing……

    its sounds that pain isn’t a factor and thats a good thing….

    be strong brad, and give her a hug…

    see you tomorrow…

  2. Mike said,

    October 19, 2011 at 8:51 am

    While I can’t imagine a better place than the one you’ve shared for so long together… Tina is undoubtedly forging ahead to get the next stop ready for your continued adventures.

    Love knows no mortal bounds… I’m glad you found each other.

    Much love to you both from little ol’ RI.

    Mike

  3. Heidi Doherty said,

    October 19, 2011 at 9:46 am

    Brad and Tina…hugs and much love comming your way…you guys are always in my thoughts here…{tears}…safe journeys and may you two find eachother again…

  4. October 19, 2011 at 6:10 pm

    I feel like a stranger intruding on a very intimate and difficult time for you and Tina: but know that you’re both in my thoughts and prayers tonight. I hope you can take comfort in her not being in pain, and she is mostly resting for the journey ahead. Take care of yourself too. It’s hard not to want to trade places, but Tina needs you to be grounded and there when the time comes.

    • Brad said,

      October 19, 2011 at 11:15 pm

      Thankyou. I’ll pass your hugs and love to Tina.


Leave a Reply

