Hi All. We’re Home

Hey friends and family

Where do we start? Tina was discharged on Monday just gone. The surgeons and doctors have been surprised at how well she recovered from 6 hours of serious surgery.

I want to say thanks to everyone for your wishes and stuff. You guys have been wonderful. I haven’t had access to the internet since my last post, so we’ve only just read all your comments (Hi Kitty).

My boss has given us a room at the resort for a week to help us get on our feet, and our Social Security department has fast tracked a part payment for us so we won’t be quite destitute yet. It’s not much, but it will help.

I’ll hand the keyboard to Tina so she can say hi. Keeping a train of thought is a little bit hard, but she’ll give it a go:

 

Hello all. How’s things? We’re great here.

I want to say hello to all. My brain is on a number 4. This is a bad thing. The worst we can do.

However, this is a bad thing. It’s a glioblastoma and it is the worst thing that we can see. I’m not doing anything about it right now. It’s a slight thing and it’s not going to be on the right way. I’m on the right way to do this. It’s all the best thing to do.

Anyway, this is the best thing to do. Take care with you guys. You all be good. Love you all heaps. XXXXXXXXXXX

 

(Brad back again)

OK, so this is the detail:

Tina has a grade 4 glioblastoma. Basically, it’s the most aggressive form of brain tumor you can get. We haven’t asked, nor do we care about a ‘timeline’. Tina is happy and smiling and enjoying life 🙂 The effects from the tumor and surgery are short term memory loss, difficulty in keeping a train of thought, and some minor confusion at times. She is still my Tina though, and we are going to enjoy every day.

We have a bunch of good friends here and on the interwebs with all you guys. I’m trying to work out a way to give you all our phone number so you can say hi, without the risk of it falling into the wrong hands. As soon as I do, I’ll pass it on. My phone still isn’t doing what it’s supposed to do, so tomorrow I’ll work out my Twitter password and do it through there. Most of you know my Twitter name. Kitty, it’s @unclechilliman. If we do a mutual follow, I can DM you and give it to you. Twisty, I’ll be changing my phone plan soon. It should allow me to talk to you for 10 minutes and it should only cost me $1.00

It will take about 43 days to get the pension and carers payment finalised. When that happens, Tina and I will head down to Rockhampton for a while to see family. Then we’ll head further down to see more family around Burrum Heads and Kingaroy. We’ll do a bit of a tour.

Anyways, we just wanted to say hi and thank all of you folks for caring, and we wanted to put your minds at ease. Tina is a tough nut. If anyone can recover from this, she can.

Can you Twitter peeps please link this? I’ll get on there tomorrow and say hi to everyone.

Love yas,

Brad and Tina

xxxxxxxxx

9 Comments

  1. twistyman said,

    August 25, 2011 at 10:43 pm

    Cooee..

    damn good to hear that you’re home tina…. and best to you brad as well, as I know you were there bedside for every minute..

    I’m sorry about the diagnosis tina…but you’re a fighter and will be one to surprise the Drs, of this I have no doubt….
    can’t keep a Damn Aussie down…..or jack will bite your ass…,

    and as I’ve come to realiaze is that the only obstacle is getting yourself motivated for the fight. and I know that you will be…, and to be around those that are positive in both words and thoughts..

    as the saying goes..
    “don’t let the bastard win”…….
    ..

    so many of your present and past friends are all in your corner, and be assured that we all are keeping you BOTH in our thoughts….

    I’ll pass the word around that you’re out of hospital, and in the corner getting them boxing gloves on…and we will all be your corner people….

    Round 1…. to the Damn Aussie…

    Go with my love and deepest support Tina….
    one step at a time honey….

  2. EkimRI said,

    August 25, 2011 at 11:35 pm

    Glad you’ve got each other,especially in this time of crisis. We’re all in your corner Tina… so get well and do it soon. =)

    In my thoughts every day…

    EkimRI

  3. Miss Hester Mofit said,

    August 26, 2011 at 12:33 am

    I’m glad to hear that Tina is home. You’ve both been in my thoughts and prayers. Hugs for you both and all of your family.

  4. bongspit said,

    August 26, 2011 at 1:41 am

    love you guys….

  5. richard smith said,

    August 26, 2011 at 2:56 am

    hope all goes well friend of twistyman sending prays and wish’s your way

    tokes

  6. Green Acres (Dean) said,

    August 26, 2011 at 3:30 am

    glad to hear your home. wish you guys best wishes

  7. GOF said,

    August 26, 2011 at 6:39 am

    All of our thoughts are with you Tina, knowing that in Brad you have the very best carer possible during your recovery.

  8. August 26, 2011 at 8:39 am

    Good to know you guys are home safely. Will share the link with your twitter friends, and to you both send love and hugs – you’re always in our thoughts. Will give you a call and see you, hopefully today 🙂 Judy & Willie.

  9. August 28, 2011 at 8:21 am

    Thanks for letting us all know what’s been happening, we’ve all been worried and had you on our minds and in our hearts.. All the best to you both, talking to “grandfather and buddha and great spirits”:) for you, gilly (gypsyluna57)


Leave a Reply

