An update about Tina

hi all
First please forgive The poor grammar etc. Im updating via our daughters iPhone. Our fone died when I got Townsville, plus im apple illiterate. Our dead fond has also meant that I havent been able to contact some of our dear friends. If you’re reading this Mary and any one else with our number, please call me. I’ll save your number to the new fone. Oh and Mary. Please get Andre to call me too.
So where do I start?
I think it was friday when I last posted.
I think you know that Tina was eventually sent to townsville with a suspected brain tumor as well.
Ok. On Monday afternoon Tina went into surgery.
But first. The MRI scan conducted in Townsville showed a very large mass located on the left? side of her frontal lobe that had swelled and was putting pressure on the right side as well. This mass is also deep near the middle of her brain as well. The neurologist told us that it was very serious and most likely a glioma (brain) tumor and not something that had come from another part of the body via the blood vessels. He told us that they needed to operate and remove as much of the mass as they could to relieve the pressure on her brain.
Ok. The operation took about 6 hours. It went exactly as planned with no complications. Tina was moved from the icy about 11 this morning.
She isn’t too bad. But then she is certainly not well.
The tumor has been affecting some of her communication and short term memory skills.
I won’t go back over things, but will just try to explain what why and how she is now.
First, Tina knows who we all are, including our online friends. Eg, she knows you Twistyman, Alison, Mary, Judy, Willie and others.
Tina also knows the answer to the basic test questions like “what is your birthdate?” but sometimes she can’t get her brain to make that switch from knowing to articulating it. Like a tip of the tongue thing. However, I have spent all day with her today and can see improvements. She can remember where things have been put in the side table drawers of her bed. Her memory isn’t totally cactus. She can walk etc very carefully of course. Tina is just a little slow sometimes but still has a sense of humor. She also managed to get mildly annoyed when I tried to help her get something from the drawer. She knew what she wanted and knew where it was but I was trying to help by asking her what she wanted.
Silly me 🙂 she went into the drawer, grabbed the knitted shawl from the bag in the drawer and shoved the bag bag in the drawer, and gave me ‘the look’. 🙂 that is a good thing.
She will improve some for sure.
However, this will only be temporary. A lot of the tumor is in a part of her brain that they just cannot afford to cut into.
I am going to lose my soulmate, best friend and partner sometime soon. The doctors can’t predict when and neither can I. It could be a matter of months. Who knows.
I am going to concentrate on working with her and the therapists to help her get that communication thing working better and I am going to learn how to help her with things without making her feel like a crippled fool.
It’s already become, in one day, frustrating for her. But she is strong willed. She and I will of course work together as the two halves that make a whole team that we are. Tina can read fine. I wrote down some notes about the stuff I observed today and she smiled at the little bits that I’d written about the look and stuff.
I will be with her from morning til night while she is in hospital. When she is eventually discharged, I willbe with her again 24/7. We will go through this as a team.all the kids will be supporting her too.
To everyone. Thankyou for your good thoughts, and thankyou for all the prayers from our religious friends.
I will do my very best to keep you updated.
One more request. Can our twitter friends please tweet a link to this post? Can some of you FB a link too?
I just want to be sure that all of our friends know what’s going on.
And please. Give the ones you love a hug.
I want to thank my bosses at The Sovereign Resort Hotel. Without their help, these first few days may have been a lot more difficult. Kieth, Sally, Marie and the crew are not workmates. They are my friends.
The Legend of the North and the Lad are looking after our stuff and Jack. I love you two blokes.
I better sign off for now. I’ll update tomorrow I hope.

Be good to each other.

16 Comments

  1. twistyman said,

    August 16, 2011 at 10:57 pm

    will do links…everywhere in 10 min….

    and damn man…its good that its mostly frontal lobe…..
    and that they got lots…..sorry if I missed it but did you get pathology report back yet…but this is such good news brad…to be up and coherent at this point is as good and better than many other…..

    and not to compare apples and oranges, a stroke could have been way worse and long term devastating….

    still a though road for tina to plough, but she will do it…

    Damn Aussie…leather skinned tough beggars……

    thank you brad for update…I will gleefully tell the world…many are asking….

    * was wondering about Jack..he’s part of her therapy…playing with dog is good balance therapy..

    again brad….I’m pleased at this stage with the news….

  2. Sunnyside said,

    August 16, 2011 at 11:13 pm

    Healing and positive energy being sent to Tina. With her strong will and love for life I believe she will prevail. All of my positive energy is being sent now and everyday. Love to you all, Sunny

  3. Miss Hester Mofit said,

    August 17, 2011 at 12:08 am

    Thank you for the update. You two have been in my thoughts and prayers. I also send healing and positive energy your way. Hugs to the both of you.

  4. bongspit said,

    August 17, 2011 at 2:20 am

    Hey guys….
    sorry to hear of your health problems, if anyone can pull through something like this it’s you two.
    much love,
    Tips

  5. August 17, 2011 at 7:49 am

    Thanks so much for the update, Brad. We’ve been thinking of you both so much and it’s a big relief to know what’s happening, and wonderful that Tina is already up and giving you The Look 🙂 It sounds as though she’s in very good hands. Huge hugs to you both from Willie and I, Scott and Ady and all your friends in Cooktown – and will tweet your link straight away to your Twitter friends, and send it to the Sov & Scott in case they haven’t read it yet. Love from us all, Judy.

  6. Brad said,

    August 17, 2011 at 11:30 am

    Just a quick one on Tracy’s iPad.

    On a quick one. All best all the best. The best one here.

    Love you all here… Heaps and heaps

    From Tina

  7. Snowy said,

    August 17, 2011 at 12:57 pm

    So sorry to hear this, Tina and Brad. Hoping for the best for both of you.

  8. August 17, 2011 at 1:04 pm

    […] days, you will recall a frequent blogger, Tina, and her partner, Brad. Brad has posted that Tina has just been operated on for a brain  tumour. Our thoughts are with them both. Share this:FacebookDiggEmailLike this:LikeBe the first to like this […]

  9. August 17, 2011 at 1:12 pm

    Brad, I know you will take good care of Tina, but don’t forget to take care of yourself as well. My husband was diagnosed with a brain tumor 22 years ago, and caring for him was tough, emotionally and physically. Ask for help from others if you need to. Give yourself a break when it begins to feel like too much. Will be thinking of you both on this side of the world.

  10. Big Sister Roz said,

    August 17, 2011 at 2:27 pm

    Hey Brad. I’ve tried to phone you at the hospital 3 times and they put me through to the room but it just rings out. I will keep trying but I just wanted you to know that I’m here, thinking and worrying about you both and hopefully we will talk soon.

  11. Inga said,

    August 18, 2011 at 7:05 pm

    Best wishes and healing thoughts to you both – I hope you get many, many more of ‘the look’! Take care.

  12. Sunnyside said,

    August 18, 2011 at 9:32 pm

    Please tell Tina I am thinking about her every day. I check in here first, every morning. Lots of love to you both. Sunny

  13. twistyman said,

    August 19, 2011 at 12:12 am

    popped in to give a hug and cheek kiss….

    hoping things are improving….

    we can compare scars after…

    love you both….and brad..look after you too…

  14. GOF said,

    August 19, 2011 at 8:21 am

    My thoughts and very best wishes are with you both at this time.

  15. michelle said,

    August 21, 2011 at 10:26 pm

    Hey brad and Tina thoughts and prayers are with you and your family, I know you both will look after each other and I know that all the family will support you greatly you have lots of people that love you both. Please keep us updated. Love to you all michelle

  16. quirkycharm said,

    August 22, 2011 at 5:02 pm

    Pure chance I looked in today, after months of life up and downs.

    Brad, I don’t know what to say except that I suffer so much for the both of you. You have been my buddies here for years, over so many ups and downs. I would gladly suffer this for you, if I could. Illness like this demands so much of you.

    Tell Tina that she is in my positive thoughts area. The person that she is, no matter exterior superficial changes, is somebody who attracts so much love because of who she already is.

    If I can help in any way that might need your needs: words, prayers, thoughts, money; please let me know. I mean this so much.

    Kitty


Leave a Reply

