For Tina’s Friends and Family

I wrote the post below last night.
My best friend. My rock. I love her so.
Flying to Cairns then Townsville today to be with her (thankyou again QLD Health).
Tina has a serious tumour in her brain.
I’ll contact or post when i know more later today.

Hi all
Tina probably doesn’t want this post. But I/we owe it to you. You deserve to know what has been going on this past week or so. I know that many of you, her friends, are concerned for her.
I’ll try to relate everything, without upsetting my baby.

About a week or so ago, Tina started complaining of a sore upper neck and bad, migraine like headaches. Now Tina doesn’t get headaches. She is much like me in that respect. Headaches are very rare for us. Both of us could count on one hand the amount of headaches we have had collectively in the past eight years.
At one stage it was that bad that she vomited. I suggested a doctor or hospital visit but my baby is not very trusting of medical types. Most of you know our views on the medical and pharmaceutical industries so you can understand her aversion.
There have been a few stages over the week where Tina has been confused and vague about the simplest of things. Like trying to remember the name of what she was looking for. Eg. A packet of tobacco, or misnaming a rubbish bin and calling it a ‘drug’ box. She would just become seriously vague and confused. At first I thought it might have just been the neck pain or headache pain making her a bit cloudy. But in the past couple of days some things happened that got me very worried. I won’t relate them out of love and respect for Tinas dignity. She also vomited while asleep.

I managed to convince her to go to the hospital today (Friday 12 August). We were sent to the local clinic because the hospital was extremely busy. When we went to the doctor, he listened to our story and referred us straight back to the hospital.
Cooktown hospital admitted her and did a full range of tests. Blood, chest x-rays, ecg etc. They couldn’t pinpoint anything. The nearest ct (brain) scanner to Cooktown is at Cairns, about 350km from here.
Cooktown hospital liaised with Cairns and they accepted her for an emergency scan immediately. Next, they organised the Royal Flying Doctor service to fly her to Cairns.
The next step was to try and get Tina to agree to stay at the hospital and to go to Cairns for the scan.
I won’t go into details, but eventually she agreed. I don’t push Tina to do anything. That’s not my job. I’m her best friend, lover and buddy. I respect what she wants or doesn’t. But this was important. Not just for her, but for all who love her.

We were taken to the airport by ambulance and Tina left at about 8:30pm in the plane.
She would have been in Cairns by 10 ish and has probably already had the scan (11:40pm).

Just as an aside, any Australian who whinges about our medical services is plain ignorant. This whole episode has and will cost us nothing. Consider the expense of the doctor, the hospital, the ambulance, the plane flight and the further tests in Cairns and you’ll realise how lucky we are. We earn about $900 a fortnight on a really good pay period. There is no way we could afford this if we had to pay for it from our pockets.

OK. So what are the local doctors thinking? The common theory is either a possible minor stroke, or maybe onset of a type of epilepsy. We will know nothing until Saturday. As soon as I find out any more news I’ll update you all. Expect another post within 12 hours of this one.

Tina. I love you more than a walk on the beach. More than a perfect shell. More than a Sunbird. More than a glass like ocean. More than the Moon. I love you more than.

I took the following pics this morning for Tina. The ocean was glass, about three minutes before the winds started again. Check the difference in the pics. It actualy went from still to 20 knots in an hour.  The other pics are of the adventure trails we made and the scrub around our present home.
If you don’t get a post later on, it means I’m on my way to Cairns.
Kids. I’ll ring with news as soon as I find out.
It’s after midnight. I should probably attempt sleep.
Goodnight for now.

image
image
image
image
image
image
image
image
image

5 Comments

  1. August 13, 2011 at 11:05 am

    Brad, I am so sorry to hear this. I hope the prognosis is good.

    I’m also glad she’s getting good care out there. In the States there is no way she would receive that sort of medical care. Australia shames us in that respect.

    I also hope you are taking care of yourself. You owe it to Tina and your kids to stay rested and healthy. Blessings on all of you.

  2. twistyman said,

    August 13, 2011 at 10:19 pm

    I’m so sorry to hear this brad…but so glad you did get tina to see someone…especially knowing her views on Drs and general med system…

    she is a tough girl and will be ok …..

    can’t keep a damn Aussie down for long…

    they’ll do the tests and may the powers that be let it be a benign tumor, and that they will remove it easily…

    in one sense brad you are lucky that you caught the signs…
    sometimes there are no warnings or someone to get them help…and also like canada you don’t have to fret that $ side and that allows you both the ability to concentrate on getting er back to chime making….

    rest assured that you have the gangs support and love..

    i will post it there…but only there….

    give her and yourself a big hug from me…and let me know if theres anything I can do…

    I know I am far but sometimes just hearing someones there helps…

    ….

    • Brad (Griff) said,

      September 30, 2016 at 7:25 pm

      Just been doing some reminiscing and came across this post again. Every time I read it, it destroys me. It takes me right back there and reminds me there was nothing i could do…

  3. Vette said,

    August 13, 2011 at 10:41 pm

    Im praying for her , God Bless her and you .. Im so sorry ..

    I hope it all goes away .. God Bless you both …

  4. taz84 said,

    August 16, 2011 at 6:32 am

    Miss u guys and hope all ends well. We love u heaps n thinkin of both n the kids


Leave a Reply

