Of Crocodiles, Echidnas and Taipans

First and foremost. A BIG Happy Birthday to Tracy Macy! Happy Birthday sugary plummery! We hope you had a good day today/yesterday xxxx. We’ll FB you on Monday. She tweets as @tracymacy so follow her! She’s our titta (sister).

So, here I am, relaxing on my driftwood and bamboo lounge chair (padded with towels because I have a bony bum), in front of our flash fire place, and I got to thinking how damned lucky I am to be where I am/we are.

It’s kind of hard maybe for some folk to realise that we are very happy and very comfortable in our modest little home. Our water supply is a bunch of plastic bottles of varied capacity that we refill in town. Our toilet is a hole in the ground out in the scrub. We shower in town, or we bathe in the ocean. Our ‘kitchen sink’ is a 10 litre, square bucket. We have a 12 volt lifht for when we need it that runs off the car, and we have a gas fridge on loan, courtesy of our friend, The Guitarist. But we are sooooo content! We eat well. We also have time to make mobiles and bracelets and stuff. My work in town allows me to be home well before sundown. So, I can walk on the beach wirh my favourite person in the world, throw a stick for Jack the dog, and collect ‘stuff’ for our art.
I just bloody well love being alive now!
Not many of you know this, but 5 months ago I explained to Tina that if we didn’t get away from where we were, I would probably ‘off’ myself. We were existing. We weren’t living as such. I was making twice as much money as we do now, but it was gone before we knew it. The only good thing about where we were was that we were close to the majority of our kids and one or two special people that we care for dearly. But the place was killing me emotionally and spiritually.
So we made our move. I no longer feel ‘dead’. Nor do I contemplate suicide anymore. I am spiritually and emotionally comfortable (for want of a better word).

But enough of that maudlin stuff. I’m supposed to be writing about Crocodiles, Echidnas and Taipans. But first, since our last post, Tina has made half a dozen more shell and driftwood mobiles. We’re thinking of hitting the markets one weekend to see if anyone wants to buy some of them. $10 each sounds fair don’t you think? Check out the photos. Some of them tinkle, but some don’t. But they’re all very organic and pretty.

OK. Back on track. Last week we saw our first snake near our home. It crossed the path we use to go bush to our ‘business’. I’m pretty sure it was a small (1metre) Taipan, but it could have been a Brown snake. We decided not to get close enough to check the scale count to properly ID it. We just let it go in its way. It was a very nice snake though. No doubt we’ll see more as the seasons change. Hopefully they’ll help control the rodents. Jack has killed two mice so far. Jack is NOT a pig dog. He barks at wild pigs, but is smart enough not to chase them. God idea too. The pigs we’ve seen here are twice his size.

Crocodiles.
For those of you who don’t live in croc country, you may be a little surprised to know that big bitey saltwater crocs are just as at home in the ocean as they are in estauries. There was a 14 foot (4.5 metre) croc tagged in the Endeavour River a few years ago. The tag had a beacon attached. This crocs movements were tracked as it moved around. They (DERM) found that this croc regularly went up every creek that fed the river. Then it would travel 20 plus kilometres out to sea and cruise the Great Barrier Reef. Then it would do a bit of a coast run before heading back up river.
Now, we’re croc aware. We know they’re about, so we don’t really think about the signs that are common around here and other croc friendly parts of the tropics. So, as my civic duty demands, check the photos from our favourite beach. It’s less than 10 km from town. Funnily though, the ‘recent sighting’ sign has been there for nearly a month. However, recent sighting signs in town are removed after a couple of days. Maybe they don’t want to scare the tourists
🙂

Echidnas
The very last thing I expected to see around camp was an Echidna. I mean, we’re pretty close to the beach. I’ve seen them in the mountains, the desert and the bush. But for some strange reason I hadn’t even considered that Echidnad might like to hang out near the beach. Well there ya go. The Echidna in the photos was nearly inside our home. Time for some edjamacashun. Echidnas are monotremes. If I recall correctly, there are only two animals in the monotreme family. One is the Echidna. The other is the Platypus. Both are egg laying mammals. And both are completely dissimilar to each other. One has a duck like bill and beaver like tail and spends most of its life in still, freshwater creeks. The other is spiny, likes dry country and lives mostly on ants.

Anyway, I’m off for now, but check the last pic. It’s a random view from where I’m sitting. Wish You Were Here to enjoy it. Especially you Twistyman, and you kidlets. Oh, the tent is our guest house. We sleep in the back of Jimmy. So remember, if you come for a visit, you’ll be sleeping in luxury on an airbed in the mansion 😉
Lastly. Do a Google for Geoffrey Gurrumal Yunupingu. The go to YouTube or somewhere and find some of his music. Gurrumuls music is just too cool to not sample some of it. Seriously.

image
image
image
image
image
image
image
image
image

9 Comments

  1. twistyman said,

    June 27, 2011 at 8:28 am

    hey..my suitcase just attacked me……

    • Tina said,

      June 27, 2011 at 8:38 am

      Damn! Smack it around with a log. ;0)

      Will check in and say hello soon. Xx

  2. Dahamma said,

    June 27, 2011 at 10:57 am

    I envy you guy’s…I really do…

    • Tina said,

      June 27, 2011 at 11:06 am

      You really should Hamma. It’s great to be able to do this. We’ve wanted to for so long and now… :0D

      Thanks for dropping in again. Xx

  3. twistyman said,

    June 27, 2011 at 9:50 pm

    I agree dahamma…it looks like my old out door concert/camping site…

  4. GOF said,

    June 29, 2011 at 7:12 am

    I’m happy that your courageous move north has been rewarded….it’s a beautiful world.

    And the whole world should know about and hear Gurrumuls music.
    It is unique and something really special.

  5. Marg said,

    June 29, 2011 at 1:00 pm

    I was happiest too when we lived for 3 years at the base of Pantoney’s Crown in the Capertee Valley. My kitchen like yours was the fire and the billy is exactly like yours too. We where happy with no material restraints. Our fridge was a old coal fridge hanging from a tree (similar to a cool safe but instead of hessian it was wrapped in coal) The coal allowed us to purify the water as well. Ah well we are onto our next adventure but with old van with no fixed address. Am looking forward to no restraints again. Loving your posts keep them coming.

    • Brad said,

      July 1, 2011 at 1:18 pm

      Sounds like you had a very cool place Marg. Glad you’re enjoying the posts too 🙂


Leave a Reply

