The Secret Paradise Part Three

Ok then. I’ve finally managed to get myself organised. Sorry it’s taken so long… but you guys should be used to that by now. ;0)

Now, what were we up to?? Oh yeah, that’s right. ‘Happy Birthday Baby’… quick cook oats and coffee for breakfast… a day of exploring, etc.

We spent a lovely day exploring and re-discovering the bay. After breakfast we walked out onto the beach with our last cup of milky coffee. I swear that next time we go to a place like this, I’ll be a bit better prepared food-wise. I promise NOT to take too much food and not enough milk powder. Never mind… black coffee does not kill you (and besides, we all learn from our silly mistakes). We spent a lazy short time looking downward at pretty shells and washed up coral. Not really much else to say about that, except that it’s become one of my favourite passtimes lately and that I enjoyed it immensely, as always.

After that we took a little wander through the old garden areas. There wasn’t a single fruit tree left in any of them (not that we found anyway), but there were plenty of little pockets of pretty garden ornamentals. Kind of silly really… it re-inforced in me the idea that it was only the food species that National Parks wanted gone from the bay. We also saw our first pig this day, despite having seen lots of track and fresh diggings. It turns out that there are quite a few of them breeding up, getting cheekily un-afraid of humans and living a life of porcine luxury there, thanks to the government’s ban on pig hunting in national parks. Another anomaly, I guess. :0/ When I quizzed Brad on the subject of pigs back when the hippies were there, he told me that he never saw any near the people. I guess you would expect that.

It was good for me to see the remnants of the old hippy digs for the first time, but it was also sad to see all the weeds that have sprung up over the years. I asked Brad later what he thought of the decline of those areas and he told me that it saddened him too. We were both hoping to find something that had re-seeded… a citrus tree, an avocado or paw paw… anything. But this was not to be. The only food that we found were coconuts. Masses and masses of trees of all sizes. Perhaps it was all too hard to pull them all out, perhaps they tried but the trees all regrew, who knows? I’d like to think that it was an homage of sorts to Bill, the old man who was buried in the bay (Brad mentioned him in a previous post, I think). After all, he planted many of them there. Perhaps they left them out of the great respect he obviously deserved. That would be a nice thought. We found his grave, and the meagre remains around what had once been his house. We paid our respects and found a few nice shells down on the beach, which we added to the collection already on his grave. It was nice to see how many people had obviously respected him enough to do the same. From everything I’ve heard about him, he deserved it all.
RIP, Bill.

The houses/huts/shanties that were there back in the day were all torn down, but we did manage to find the remains of several places that had been built on stone foundations. It was good to see and gave us a whisper of the civilisation that once existed there. Mostly though, it was bush and rainforest… and weeds, of course. And there were plenty of miscellaneous little bits and pieces that once belonged in someone’s kitchen or bedroom… a rusty dented kettle, some old chipped cups, a scarf that had been hung in a tree. These things in little bunches near the old house sites suggested that they were carelessly thrown into the bush when the houses were destroyed. Yet another cruel reminder of beaurocratic ‘efficiency’… or perhaps a warning to ‘the ferals’ to keep out. Perhaps I’m a bit cynical, but they could have been collected and disposed of properly if they wanted the land returned to original condition as was stated, methinks.

And after all of that fun we retired back to our little campsite. Dinner was basic but quite yummy… risotto with dried soup vegetables. Again. Easy to carry, easy to cook. And let’s not forget the coconut juice and flesh for dessert.

A really lovely birthday for me, all told. The only thing that would have made it better would have been to have our kids with us. We missed all of you guys heaps, but rest assured that you were all in our thoughts. It made me a little bit sad that I couldn’t hug you strongly to my chest… but then my favourite man smiled at me, kissed me and told me he loves me again.

What a brilliant birthday Baby. Thank you from the bottom of my heart. I love you more than I can say!!

4 Comments

  1. twistyman said,

    June 8, 2011 at 11:21 pm

    happy to hear you had a nice day……

    love bob.

    • Tina said,

      June 16, 2011 at 10:42 am

      Thanks Bob. Would have been nicer if you’d tagged along :0)

  2. GOF said,

    June 12, 2011 at 8:04 am

    Nice trilogy guys. Wonderful place to celebrate a birthday.
    I think BLACK coffee might lead ME to an early grave. 🙂

    A lot of sad memories there…..and to think that some do-gooder also wanted to remove all of Queensland’s coconut trees because they are an introduced species.

    • Tina said,

      June 16, 2011 at 10:46 am

      I’m glad they didn’t, to be honest. We ate our fair share, that’s for sure. BTW, did you know that coconuts keep you very regular?

      And I’m still very glad that we went, sad memories or not. I’ll happily go back too… for longer next time.


Leave a Reply

