More Good News

I’ve got a job!

Brad’s on his second day driving the local RACQ recovery truck today, so I started the day thinking that I’d be spending the day entertaining myself. I’d planned on doing some shopping and washing some clothes, but figured the rest of my day would be full of sitting around under cool trees and dog-sitting.
I started off by heading down to the local IGA and wandered leasurely around, taking my time with the shopping. Didn’t take long though… it never does when you’re shopping for two, and especially when you can only buy dry food and stuff that’ll stay cool in an esky.

I was going to head down to the laundromat next, but changed my mind. Plenty of time for that later, I figured. Instead, I decided to head on down to the Information Centre where I could park up in the shade and let the dogs out of the car for a bit. I’d been wanting to stop in there and have a look around, and see of I could pick up some pamphlets that might tell me a little bit about the history of the area.

So I went in and had a bit of a chat with the fellow who works there and he gave me some stuff to read. Then I went back outside and boiled the billy to make coffee. I’d also treated myself to a plain brand fruit cake when I went shopping… hang the expense. Coffee and fruit cake with butter makes a nice morning tea.

I was perusing my pamphlets when Judy from @guurrbi tours gave me a call. She’d been down to the wharf looking for me, but of course I wasn’t there.

It turns out that Judy had been talking to a good friend of hers, Scott from The Cooktown Motel (also a backpackers) and he’d asked if she knew anyone artistic as he needed his crocodile (statue out front of the reception) painted.

‘As a matter of fact I do,’ she replied. He also mentioned that he needed to go to Cairns for a couple of days and needed a cleaner to help out with the rooms. She asked if I’d be interested… whaddya reckon? Course I was.

So anyway, I went down and met Scott and we had a good old yarn. He showed me around a bit and told me there’d be 4 or 5 rooms to service tomorrow and a couple more on Friday. Also, he said they were planning on pulling the furniture out of the rooms and giving them a good spring clean next week.

As for the croc… he’d decided to paint the statue yesterday, and since he wanted it to stand out he’d started painting it himself… red! He got part way through and decided that it looks shocking… well… ‘it looks like shit,’ were the words he used… I’m afraid I had to agree…

So as a result, I’ve also accepted my first artistic commission. Not sure what I’ll do with the old fella, but it won’t be hard to make an improvement, I’m sure ;0)

Oh… and one more thing. I found out last night that it’s probably not a very good idea to camp at Finch Bay. It got a bit stormy last night. No rain to speak of, but lots of thunder and lightning… good croc breeding weather. They started barking in the mangroves not long after the thunder started. Jack got worried… he started crying at my window and wouldn’t shut up until I let them into the car. Obviously he doesn’t trust logs with teeth either… ;0)

But Billy snores and hogs the bed… might leave him out as bait next time… croc is supposed to taste real good.

I AM just kidding, guys…

7 Comments

  1. twistyman said,

    March 23, 2011 at 9:55 pm

    Morning/night Tina…

    I’m so happy to hear you got some work…shit and both of you at same time..congrats..

    and also excellent t get that croc painting job..
    lots of artists works go unnoticed…but a small thing like that outside a hotel may just get some buzz….

    watch out for toothy logs..

    love Bob.

  2. Tina said,

    March 24, 2011 at 8:56 pm

    Thanks Bob. It really made my day. I can’t tell you how much it perked me up. And on top of that, we’ve been invited to a get together at the local artists assoc tomorrow… the local artists want to meet us, it seems. Wow! Brad may not be able to go because of work, but I’m going to if I can. I’d love to meet them too.

    Word gets around quick in small places like this. I’m glad that we’ve met so many friendly locals already. I think we’re going to blend in here well. Good thing too… we’re planning on staying a while :0)

  3. twistyman said,

    March 24, 2011 at 10:31 pm

    I’m happy for you…..

    I’m having a small issue with getting to new stuff on this GB blog..when you post I get the email…but the bookmark I have takes me to the 1st time I was here and its always the sept page, and I don’t see a place for “new post”…
    only the calender at left side..is there a “home page” with new stuff or do I need to use the comments thing..

    thanks…love ya bob.

    • Tina said,

      March 25, 2011 at 7:16 am

      I’m not sure why Bob. Try clicking on the comment thing or the blog name at the top of the page. It should go to the last post, I would have imagined. Or maybe save the blog to your favourites and see if that works. We don’t see it the same on this phone app any more., have to be content with a list of posts. Sorry I couldn’t be more help…

      • twistyman said,

        March 25, 2011 at 9:05 am

        Thanks….
        I’ll figure something out….

  4. GOF said,

    March 25, 2011 at 5:26 am

    Sounds like you might have been destined to end up at Cooktown. Brad’s job could prove to be quite interesting, and hope you post a pic of the croc after repainting, and avoid all those other barking ones in the mangrove.
    Hope everything works out really well for you both. You deserve it after all the effort it took to get there.

    • Tina said,

      March 25, 2011 at 7:39 am

      Destined… I was thinking the same thing GOF. Had a hard time finding work on the way… and we did look. Just seems that everything fell into place. :0)


Leave a Reply

