Our Little Mate

This is our little mate, Stony.

Stony

I found him one day in amongst our camping gear on the stony ground (hence his name). He was so dark and dried out that I thought he was dead at first. Now, I’ve always loved frogs so I bent down with the intention of moving him into the grass… simply out of respect. But Stoney moved a little, so I put him in a bowl of water and cleaned him off. Then I put him a nice cool and dark container with just a little water… to recuperate.

Since then he’s hung around, and now he’s a happy, healthy frog who lives in our car with us and our dogs. He hides during the day and comes out into the light at night to find some bugs. He’s completely free to come and go as he pleases, but he always returns to the car at dawn (we often have other frogs come along for the ride too).

Stoney likes it when we hold him as well… sometimes he even jumps up onto our shoulder or lap. Of course, we always make sure we wet our hands if he wants a pat, so that we don’t damage his skin.

Frogs R Kool!…

7 Comments

  1. twistyman said,

    November 30, 2010 at 7:26 am

    I had a leopard frog that followed me around for days while camping at a quarry…

    I’g dive off cliff and frog would follow and then liked to lay on my gut while I floated on my back….
    some real funny yet cute stuff…

    • Tina said,

      November 30, 2010 at 11:11 am

      How very cool…
      I think it’s amazing how many different cultures portray frogs as magical creatures. In most it’s considered good luck when they choose to be around you.
      They’re certainly very smart and good company. I love them…

  2. cc1804 said,

    December 5, 2010 at 7:56 am

    Our front verandah has become home to numerous frogs in the last couple of days.
    One is particular is on the “wanted” list, however – so bloomin’ loud, croaking all night!!!
    Spotted him once – big, green and obviously delighted with the lovely wet environment and excess bugs around at the moment.

    • Tina said,

      December 6, 2010 at 9:11 am

      Don’t eat the frogs!! Although that big one sounds like he might almost make a meal… 😉

      They’ll keep the bugs down, and it won’t take long ’til the mozzies start. You’ll want a few froggie friends then…

      • cc1804 said,

        December 6, 2010 at 6:35 pm

        Yep, have decided that in this dog eat dog world that the frogs can consume the mossies and other bugs for us.
        I love seeing frogs around the yard – know it is a good healthy environment when they are active…now just to encourage them to sit somewhere other than under the bedroom window at night lol

  3. December 18, 2010 at 3:51 am

    Awww that is seriously the cutest story I have ever heard. I am not usually such a dork, but I love frogs so much!! Give him a pat for me 😉

    • Tina said,

      December 18, 2010 at 9:00 am

      I will Jacalyn, the next time he comes for some company. He’ll be pleased that he’s famous 😉 He’s getting big now. I’ll have to take another pic next time he turns up. Thanks xx


Leave a Reply

